Cat Power wins 2007 Shortlist Music Prize

'The Greatest' heralded the - eh - greatest!

Cat Power has been named the winner of the 2007 Shortlist Music Prize for her latest album ’The Greatest’.

The album beat nine other releases from finalists such as Hot Chip, Joanna Newsom, Regina Spektor, and Tom Waits.

The Shortlist Prize was launched in 2001, and was won in its maiden year by Sigur Ros. Subsequent winners were N.E.R.D, Damien Rice and TV On The Radio.

Among the artists voting for this year’s winner were Snow Patrol member Gary Lightbody, The KillersRonnie Vannucci, Franz Ferdinand, KT Tunstall, Panic! At The Disco, and The Flaming Lips‘ frontman Wayne Coyne.