Here’s Cat Power delivering an emotional Rihanna cover

Chan Marshall has taken on a track from the star's 'Unapologetic' album

Cat Power has included an emotional cover of Rihanna‘s ‘Stay’ on her new album, ‘Wanderer‘.

The record marks Power’s (whose real name is Chan Marshall) 10th studio album and her first in six years. It follows 2012’s ‘Sun‘, which, in a three-and-a-half-star review, NME described as: “[sitting] in stark contrast to 2008’s loungey covers collection ‘Jukebox’ and the reclining Memphis strings and horns of 2006’s ‘The Greatest’, as Marshall wrings everything she possibly can out of the studio.”

‘Stay’, which originally featured on Rihanna’s ‘Unapologetic‘, appears in the middle of the record and sees the musician building a new version from the chorus and bridge over gentle piano. In a press release, Power said: “I love the tradition of covering songs. I think it’s one of the highest compliments you can pay another artist. It’s one of the great traditions in American music and one of the true pleasures of music history.”


Last month, a collaboration between Power and Lana Del Rey was unveiled. ‘Woman’ also features on ‘Wanderer’, which will be released on October 5 via Domino.

The musician said the record reflects “the course my life has taken in this journey – going from town to town, with my guitar, telling my tale; with reverence to the people who did this generations before me.”

“Folk singers, blues singers, and everything in between – they were all wanderers, and I am lucky to be among them,” she added.

Cat Power will return to the UK next month for a one-off show before heading to Europe. Tickets are available to purchase here. She will play:


October 2018
23 – London, UK – Roundhouse
25 – Paris, France – Le Trianon
26 – Brussels, Belgium – Ancienne Belgique
28 – Berlin, Germany – Astra
29 – Zurich, Switzerland – Z-Tra
30 – Lausanne, Switzerland – Les Docks

November 2018
1 – Barcelona, Spain – Razzmatazz
2 – Madrid, Spain – Circo Price
5 – Bologna, Italy – Estragon