Christopher Owens unveils two new songs – watch

The former Girls man played ' I Just Can't Live Without You (But I'm Still Alive)' and 'Brian Deneke' in session
Christopher Owens has unveiled two new songs during a recent online session.

The former Girls frontman will release a new solo album, called ‘A New Testament’, on September 29. He played two new songs, ‘ I Just Can’t Live Without You (But I’m Still Alive)’ – which you can see above – and ‘Brian Deneke’ – which you can watch here – live for SubTV. ‘Brian Deneke’ is named after a teenage punk musician who was killed in a deliberate hit and run attack in Texas in 1997.

Owens has previously shared the tracks ‘Nothing More Than Everything To Me’, ‘Stephen’ and ‘It Comes Back To You’ from his new LP, which features contributions from John Anderson, Darren Weiss, and Danny Eisenberg, all of whom Owens worked with in Girls. The band’s debut, 2009’s ‘Album’, was followed by the EP ‘Broken Dreams Club’ in 2011 and lastly ‘Father, Son, Holy Ghost’. Owens quit the band in July 2012, citing “personal reasons” for his decision.


The tracklisting for ‘A New Testament’ is as follows:

‘My Troubled Heart’
‘Nothing More Than Everything To Me’
‘It Comes Back To You’
‘Oh My Love’
‘Nobody’s Business’
‘A Heart Akin The Wind’
‘Key To My Heart’
‘Over And Above Myself’
‘Never Wanna See That Look Again’
‘Overcoming Me’
‘I Just Can’t Live Without You (But I’m Still Alive)’