Christopher Owens announces new album ‘A New Testament’

Former Girls frontman also reveals video for track 'Nothing More Than Everything To Me'

Christopher Owens has announced details of a new solo album called ‘A New Testament’.

The former Girls frontman, who released his debut solo LP ‘Lysandre’ in 2013, will put out the follow-up on September 30 of this year. He also shared a new video for a track taken from the album, ‘Nothing More Than Everything To Me’, which you can watch below. Owens had previously shared the tracks ‘Stephen’ and ‘It Comes Back To You’ from the LP.

As Pitchfork notes, meanwhile, the LP features contributions from John Anderson, Darren Weiss, and Danny Eisenberg, all of whom Owens worked with in Girls. The band’s debut, 2009’s ‘Album’, was followed by the EP ‘Broken Dreams Club’ in 2011 and lastly ‘Father, Son, Holy Ghost’. Owens quit the band in July 2012, citing “personal reasons” for his decision.


Speaking to NME about it, he commented: “When we very first started [Girls], we were both very clear that we had a very specific goal for the band and that if it didn’t work out we would end it. We jumped in very quickly in the beginning because people liked what we recorded together and put on the internet, so we just put together a live band. We always believed that at some point that we would find the right people and they would stay forever but unfortunately we didn’t.”

The tracklisting for ‘A New Testament’ is as follows:

‘My Troubled Heart’
‘Nothing More Than Everything To Me’
‘It Comes Back To You’
‘Oh My Love’
‘Nobody’s Business’
‘A Heart Akin The Wind’
‘Key To My Heart’
‘Over And Above Myself’
‘Never Wanna See That Look Again’
‘Overcoming Me’
‘I Just Can’t Live Without You (But I’m Still Alive)’

You May Also Like




More Stories