Chvrches share lyric video for new single ‘Leave A Trace’ – watch

Second album 'Every Open Eye' will be released in September

Synth-pop trio Chvrches have aired their brand new single ahead of their upcoming second album release.

The Glasgow band recently confirmed details of their new LP, which will be titled ‘Every Open Eye’. Following on from 2013’s ‘The Bones Of What You Believe’, the record will be released on September 25.

New single ‘Leave A Trace’ has been unveiled ahead of the album’s release, premiering on Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 show on Thursday night (July 16).

Speaking to Pitchfork previously, singer Lauren Mayberry described the song as a “middle finger mic-drop”. Watch the lyric video for the track below.

Read the NME review of the track here.

Mayberry added of the single: “It’s about that point where you’re like, ‘There’s no point having this conversation anyways: There will be no resolve, I won’t feel better about it, you won’t feel better about it, no outcome from this will actually change my reality’.”

“It makes me feel better to write about that – I’ve done something constructive with it. You don’t put that on other people, you put that into what you do. That’s always the way I’ve written lyrics. My ex-partners are not friends with me, but I’m OK with that.”


Speaking to NME earlier this year, band member Martin Doherty discussed their plans for the new LP, including the trio’s desire to make it “leaner” than ‘The Bones Of What You Believe’.

“I think we’ll use fewer instruments but ultimately try and do more with them,” Doherty said. “When you listen to a Michael Jackson song or a Prince song, you realise there’s absolutely nothing in it but an amazing bassline, drums and singing. We want to channel some of that.”

Check out the album’s tracklisting and artwork below.

‘Never Ending Circles’
‘Leave A Trace’
‘Keep You On My Side’
‘Make Them Gold’
‘Clearest Blue’
‘High Enough To Carry You Over’
‘Empty Threat’
‘Down Side Of Me’
‘Playing Dead’
‘Bury It’
‘Get Away’
‘Follow You’
‘Bow Down’