Chvrches announce new ‘Hansa Session’ EP, out this Friday

It contains new acoustic and string quartet arrangements of songs

Chvrches have announced a new five-track EP that hits shelves this Friday, 16 November.

The ‘Hansa Session’ EP features new acoustic and string quartet arrangements as well as live performances of songs from their latest album, ‘Love Is Dead’, which were recorded at the Hansa Studios in Berlin.

Watch the EP trailer below:


“When we had the opportunity to record at Hansa we jumped at it even though we were in the middle of a hectic tour,” says bandmember Iain Cook.
Cook also wrote the string arrangements, which were recorded separately at Bad Robot in LA.
“It is such hallowed ground for me – my heroes Bowie, Depeche, Iggy, Siouxsie, Tangerine Dream, Nick Cave amongst others made arguably their best work in that building – and we hoped that when we went there, we would capture even just a tiny bit of that energy.”

Earlier in the day, we caught up with Chvrches as they chilled backstage

Frontwoman Lauren Mayberry says: “It was really fun to try to reinterpret the songs and still communicate the messages and emotions with different arrangements.
“Once an album is out and you’re on the road, it’s harder to be creative so it’s exciting when those opportunities present themselves, and getting to make music in places like Hansa and Bad Robot is really a bucket list thing for all of us.”


1. ‘Graffiti’
2. ‘Miracle’
3. ‘Get Out’
4. ‘Heaven/Hell’
5. ‘Really Gone’

The band is currently touring Europe and will return in early 2019 for their first UK and Ireland tour in two years.

Chvrches kick-off the UK and Ireland dates with a show at London’s Alexandra Palace on February 7 2019. See full dates here.


The ‘Hansa Session’ EP is released digitally this Friday, 16 November and on limited edition 10” vinyl on December 14.