The band play songs from their new album in Europe for the first time....

COLDPLAY have played a secret gig in Europe.

The band are currently playing a series of low-key dates to road test their new album, and last night appeared in Amsterdam at the Melkweg venue(April 6).

According to fans at the show, the band took the opportunity to premiere a selection of songs from their new album ’X&Y’ for the first time, including the title track, ’Low’ and ’Till Kingdom Come’.

Other new songs which were played at their recent shows in LA were also played, including set opener ’Square One’, forthcoming single ’Speed Of Sound’ and the ballad ‘What If’.

The setlist ran: ’Square One’


’Speed Of Sound’

’God Put A Smile Upon Your Face’

’Warning Sign’




’The Scientist’

’Til’ Kingdom Come’


’What If’

’In My Place’

’A Message’


Coldplay have also revealed the tracklisting and artwork for ‘X&Y’, which is out on June 6.

The tracklisting is:

‘Square One’

’What If’

’White Shadows’

’Fix You’



’Speed Of Sound’

’A Message’


’The Hardest Part’

’Swallowed In The Sea’

’Twisted Logic’

Regarding the album’s artwork however, there are currently no clues to the meaning behind the image that resembles 1990s computer game ‘Tetris’.

The album was produced by Danton Supple, Ken Nelson and the band and will be preceded by single ‘Speed Of Sound’ on May 23.