Smiths guitarist writes Crowded House track

Johnny Marr also helps out on their new single

The Smiths‘ guitarist Johnny Marr has helped to write a song for the new Crowded House album.

The star has co-written album track ‘Even A Child’ with frontman Neil Finn for the band’s first album in 14 years.

Marr, who has recently been working with Modest Mouse, also features on the band’s lead-off single ‘Don’t Stop Now’, which is due out on June 25.


Elsewhere, Dixie Chicks have contributed ‘Silent House’, a song co-written with Finn, which appears on their own album ‘Taking The Long Way’.

The 14-song LP, entitled ‘Time On Earth’, was recorded with Kings Of Leon producer Ethan Johns in Auckland, New Zealand.

The full tracklisting is:

‘Nobody Wants To’

‘Don’t Stop Now’

‘She Called Up’


‘Say That Again’

‘Pour Le Monde’

‘Even A Child’

‘Heaven That I’m Making’

‘Silent House’

‘English Trees’

‘Walked Her Way Down’

‘Transit Lounge’

‘You Are The One to Make Me Cry’

‘A Sigh’

‘People Are Like Suns’

The band are due to appear at the Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival this Sunday (April 29) – stay tuned to NME.COM for news and blogs straight from this year’s event.

Meanwhile the band will co-headline Hyde Park Calling on June 23 and the Outsider Festival in Scotland the following day.

‘Time On Earth’ is released on July 2.

You May Like