Damon Albarn joined onstage by Snoop Dogg, De La Soul and Gorillaz collaborators at SXSW

Albarn played solo material as well as Gorillaz, Blur and The Good, The Bad and The Queen tracks

Damon Albarn was joined onstage by Snoop Dogg, De La Soul and Gorillaz collaborators Dan the Automator and Del the Funky Homosapien at SXSW last night (March 14).

As well as playing a host of material from his forthcoming solo album, ‘Everyday Robots’, at the Austin, Texas festival, Albarn played a number of Gorillaz songs, finishing up his set at the Fader Fort with ‘Clint Eastwood’, for which he was joined by Dan the Automator and Del the Funky Homosapien, who featured on the original recording of the song. Another surprise guest, Snoop Dogg, made his way onto the stage mid-way through the song to huge cheers from the crowd, repeating his guest freestyle, which he also performed when Gorillaz headlined Glastonbury Festival in 2010. “This is the first time this song has been performed in its purest form,” said Albarn by way of an introduction. “We’ve never performed it together before and we may never again.”

De La Soul joined Albarn and his backing band The Heavy Seas for a rendition of the 2005 Gorillaz single ‘Feel Good Inc’, with Albarn bringing the hip hop icons on by saying: “I’d like to invite some very old friends of mine onto the stage.” During the performance, Albarn sprayed a bottle of water over the dancing crowd.

Opening the show at 8pm local time, Albarn warned the crowd that the set would feature a lot of new material. “So we’re gonna play quite a lot of new music, but we’re also gonna play some old stuff as well, so don’t panic!” he said, before playing ‘Lonely Press Play’ followed by ‘Everyday Robots’.

Later in the set he played The Good, The Bad and The Queen’s ‘Kingdom Of Doom’ as well as Blur’s ‘All Your Life’, which was the b-side to 1996’s ‘Beetlebum’. A local church choir then joined the group for ‘Heavy Seas of Love’ and ‘Mr Tembo’ from ‘Everyday Robots’, the latter introduced as “a song about a baby elephant that missed their mum”.

‘Everyday Robots’ is released on April 28.

Damon Albarn played:

‘Lonely Press Play’
‘Everyday Robots’
‘Tomorrow Comes Today’
New song
New song
‘Hollow Ponds’
‘On Melancholy Hill’
‘Feel Good Inc’
‘Photographs (You are Taking Now)’
‘Kingdom Of Doom’
‘All Your Life’
‘Heavy Seas of Love’
‘Mr Tembo’
New song
‘Clint Eastwood’