Damon Albarn announces new album ‘Everyday Robots’

The Blur frontman will release his debut solo LP on April 28

Damon Albarn has announced the title and release date for his forthcoming solo album.

The Blur frontman will release ‘Everyday Robots’ on April 28. The singer posted the news last night (January 19) on his Twitter page along with the LP’s artwork. According to Albarn’s Facebook page, the album will feature guest appearances from Brian Eno and Natasha Khan of Bat For Lashes. “It’s his most soul-searching and autobiographical yet, explores nature versus technology,” says a statement on Facebook. The video for the LP’s title track will premiere tomorrow (January 21). Scroll down for the album’s tracklisting.

On Blogs – Damon Albarn’s 10 finest moments

Albarn had previously announced that he was making a solo album last May, revealing that he was working with producer and XL Records label boss Richard Russell. “Richard does the rhythmic side and I do everything else,” he said. “It’s sort of folk soul.”

Quizzed further on working with Russell and the sound of his album, Albarn said: “We worked together on the Bobby Womack record, and really enjoy working together. He’s done spectacularly well as a music mogul, but I think he wants to focus his energy on producing records. Making a solo record can be such a disaster, so I thought if we’re going to make a record with my name on it, I should get someone to really produce it – take that responsibility away from myself.”

In December, Albarn revealed 20-second teaser for for the album – watch it below. Shot in black and white, the video shows Albarn, from behind, playing a keyboard topped with two skulls and a stuffed owl.

The ‘Everyday Robots’ tracklisting is:

‘Everyday Robots’
‘Lonely Press Play’
‘Mr Tembo’
‘The Selfish Giant’
‘You And Me’
‘Hollow Ponds’
‘Seven High’
‘Photographs (You Are Taking Now)’
‘The History Of A Cheating Heart’
‘Heavy Seas Of Love’