Damon Albarn, Peter Gabriel and more are on this new album

'Everything Is Recorded By Richard Russell' will be released next month

Damon Albarn and Peter Gabriel are among the musicians who feature on a new album from XL Recordings boss Richard Russell.

The label chief started the Everything Is Recorded project in 2016, with a debut EP ‘Close But Not Quite’ arriving in May of last year.

Now, Russell has announced a full-length album, titled ‘Everything Is Recorded By Richard Russell’. It is due for release on February 16 via XL, and features a raft of musicians. Vocals across the record are provided by Sampha, Giggs, Ibeyi, Obongjayar, Wiki, and Syd, while Albarn, Gabriel, Kamasi Washington, Owen Pallett and more have made “instrumental contributions”.


A new music video for the album’s ‘Bloodshot Red Eyes’, which features Infinite and Green Gartside, has also been shared. Watch it below.

The track listing for ‘Everything Is Recorded’ is as follows:

  1. ‘Intro’
  2. ‘Close But Not Quite’ feat. Sampha
  3. ‘She Said’ feat. Obongjayar and Kamasi Washington
  4. ‘Wet Looking Road’ feat. Giggs
  5. ‘Mountains Of Gold’ feat. Sampha, Ibeyi, Wiki, and Kamasi Washington
  6. ‘Show Love’ feat. Syd and Sampha
  7. ‘Echoes In The Bone – Interlude’ feat. Rachel Zeffira
  8. ‘Bloodshot Red Eyes’ feat. Infinite and Green Gartside
  9. ‘Cane’ feat. Ibeyi
  10. ‘Purify – Interlude’ feat. Infinite and Peter Gabriel
  11. ‘Be My Friend’ feat. Infinite
  12. ‘Everything Is Recorded’ feat. Sampha and Owen Pallett

The debut Everything Is Recorded live show will take place on February 15 at the old Savoy Cinema in east London. Sampha, Ibeyi, Warren Ellis, and Obongjayar are among those set to perform. Public rehearsals will be held between February 14-17.

Meanwhile, Albarn’s Gorillaz are set to release a new album this year. The band released their fifth record ‘Humanz’ in April 2017, before dropping a bonus track called ‘Garage Palace’ in October.


Co-founder Jamie Hewlett has confirmed the record’s existence, telling TASCHEN editor Julius Wiedemann: “We’re working on another Gorilllaz album that we’re going to be releasing next year. So we’re going straight into the album with no break. Usually we have a good five-year break between each album but we decided: ‘You know what? Let’s keep going’ because there’s ideas for a few more albums so we’re going to go straight into that.”