Daryl Hall tells The xx “pay me” after band sample Hall and Oates

Hall and Oates is sampled on The xx's new song 'On Hold'

Today The xx shared ‘On Hold’, the first song to be taken from their upcoming album ‘I See You’.

It samples Hall and Oates’ 1981 track ‘I Can’t Go for That (No Can Do).’ Daryl Hall has now commented on the band’s use of his work, telling Genius; “It’s always interesting to hear what somebody does with my songs. After a song is written, it belongs to the world and can be interpreted anyway they want. As long as I get paid, of course. Have fun and pay me.”

The xx’s third album will be titled ‘I See You’ and will feature 10 songs in total and is set to be released on January 13, 2017 via Young Turks.


See the full tracklisting below:

1. ‘Dangerous’
2. ‘Say Something Loving’
3. ‘Lips’
4. ‘A Violent Noise’
5. ‘Performance’
6. ‘Replica’
7. ‘Brave For You’
8. ‘On Hold’
9. ‘I Dare You’
10. ‘Test Me’

READ MORE: The xx’s New Album: Release Date, Tour Dates, New Tracks And Everything You Need To Know

In the Beats1 interview, Romy also admitted to feeling “really nervous” about returning to the live setting: “I’ve been off stage for a long time, but it’s just going to be great to play some new songs and actually look into people’s eyes and see the reaction. That fits in with the title, it kind of has a lot of meaning to us, but one of the meanings is, when you’re going to a gig and you stand in the front row and you look at the people at stage, I always used to think they couldn’t see me, I’m just invisible, and then I got on stage and I could see everybody. That’s one of the meanings of the title, and a message to our fans.”