David Bowie announces details of ‘Five Years 1969–1973’ box set

The collection will include six remastered albums, two live albums, plus a compilation of rare recordings

David Bowie has confirmed a new box set release.

‘Five Years 1969–1973’ will be released on September 25, a 12 CD or 13 LP collection featuring all the music recorded during this period, including six remastered albums, two live albums, plus a compilation of rare recordings. The Guardian report that it’ll be the first of a series of career-spanning releases from Bowie.

SEE ALSO: David Bowie’s 40 Greatest Songs

The remastered albums include ‘David Bowie AKA Space Oddity’, ‘The Man Who Sold the World’, ‘Hunky Dory’, ‘The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars’, ‘Aladdin Sane’, and ‘PinUps’.

The live albums are ‘Live Santa Monica ’72’ and ‘Ziggy Stardust: The Motion Picture Soundtrack’. There’s also the 2003 stereo mix of ‘The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars’.

The compilation disc, titled ‘Re:Call 1’, will feature non-album tracks and rarities recorded between 1969 and 1973. See the tracklist for that collection below.

‘Re:Call 1’ Disc 1:

Space Oddity (original UK mono single edit)
Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (original UK mono single version)
Ragazzo Solo, Ragazza Sola
The Prettiest Star (original mono single version)
Conversation Piece
Memory of a Free Festival (Part 1)
Memory of a Free Festival (Part 2)
All the Madmen (mono single edit) *
Holy Holy (original mono single version) #
Moonage Daydream (The Arnold Corns single version)
Hang on to Yourself (The Arnold Corns single version)

‘Re:Call 1’ Disc 2:

Changes (mono single version)
Andy Warhol (mono single version)
Starman (original single mix)
John, I’m Only Dancing (original single version)
The Jean Genie (original single mix)
Drive-In Saturday (German single edit)
Round and Round
John, I’m Only Dancing (sax version)
Time (U.S. single edit)
Holy Holy (Spiders version)
Velvet Goldmine

* previously unreleased
# only issued on original ‘71 Mercury single

Meanwhile, Bowie will re-release his 1983 single ‘Let’s Dance’ on yellow vinyl this summer. The song, which originally featured on Bowie’s album of the same name and was a UK singles chart-topper, is now being reissued to mark the opening of the ‘David Bowie Is’ exhibition in Melbourne, Australia.

The AA-side seven-inch will include the original single version of the track, along with a live recording of the song taken from Bowie’s ‘Serious Moonlight’ tour stop-off in Vancouver, Canada. Both tracks have been remastered especially for the release, coming on July 16 and limited to just 550 copies at the Australian Centre For The Moving Image (ACMI) gallery.

As well as this, it’s been revealed that David Bowie’s new musical stage show will feature new songs, with the project’s director claiming that the new material sounds as good as his classic tracks.

Bowie is working on a new stage show based on his 1976 film The Man Who Fell To Earth, which saw the musician playing the character of an alcoholic alien called Thomas Newton. The new show, co-written with Irish playwright Enda Walsh, is to be directed by Belgian director Ivo van Hove and will be titled ‘Lazarus’.