David Bowie reveals sleeves for ‘Nothing Has Changed’ compilation

Designer Jonathan Barnbrook explains the concept

The three sleeves for forthcoming David Bowie compilation ‘Nothing Has Changed’ have been revealed in this week’s NME, which is available on newsstands and digitally now.

Scroll down to see the three images, which cover the 3CD, 2CD and vinyl editions of the album.

Speaking to NME, designer Jonathan Barnbrook explained why he chose the motif of Bowie looking into a mirror. He said: “The theme of Bowie looking in the mirror was a strong enough ‘archetype’ to provide an immediately identifiable visual link but make it clear this was a collection of songs through the experience of one person’s life, not necessarily a specific concept or period of time as albums tend to be.”


Barnbrook added: “It immediately throws up some interesting thoughts: Bowie as the young dandy and the obvious comparisons with Oscar Wilde and The Picture Of Dorian Gray, with the portrait that ages. In the younger photos, how is Bowie imagining his future? Does he, as we all do at that time, feel immortal? Does he see himself in the way that others see him? As Ziggy Stardust, does he see someone putting on an image, and was his true identity lost? With the later images, as a man who has lived an incredibly unusual life, what is he thinking? About his legacy? How the world perceives him?”

Also in the magazine is a first listen report on brand new Bowie track ‘Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime), plus new interviews with collaborator Maria Schneider and producer Tony Visconti. ‘Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)’, will be released as a limited edition 10-inch single on November 17 – the same day as the album. The 10-inch will also feature another exclusive 2014 recording on the B-side: ‘Tis A Pity She’s A Whore’.

‘Nothing Has Changed’ also features the previously unreleased ‘Let Me Sleep Beside You’ from the ‘Toy’ album sessions. The download-only ‘Your Turn To Drive’ will be making its debut on CD and the 2001 re-recording of the 1971 outtake ‘Shadow Man’ is included too.


The tracklist for the 3CD edition of ‘Nothing Has Changed’ is as follows:

CD 1:
‘Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)’
‘Where Are We Now?’
‘Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy for the DFA Edit)’
‘The Stars (Are Out Tonight)’
‘New Killer Star (Radio Edit)’
‘Everyone Says ‘Hi’ (Edit)’
‘Slow Burn (Radio Edit)’
‘Let Me Sleep Beside You’
‘Your Turn To Drive’
‘Shadow Man’
‘Seven (Marius De Vries Mix)’
‘Survive (Marius De Vries Mix)’
‘Thursday’s Child (Radio Edit)’
‘I’m Afraid Of Americans (V1) (Clean Edit)’
‘Little Wonder (Edit)’
‘Hallo Spaceboy (PSB Remix)’ (with Pet Shop Boys)
‘The Heart’s Filthy Lesson (Radio Edit)’
‘Strangers When We Meet (Single Version)’

CD 2:
‘Buddha Of Suburbia’
‘Jump They Say (Radio Edit)’
‘Time Will Crawl (MM Remix)’
‘Absolute Beginners (Single Version)’
‘Dancing In The Street’ (with Mick Jagger)
‘Loving The Alien (Single Remix)’
‘This Is Not America’ (with Pat Metheny Group)
‘Blue Jean’
‘Modern Love (Single Version)’
‘China Girl (Single Version)’
‘Let’s Dance (Single Version)’
‘Fashion (Single Version)’
‘Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (Single Version)’
‘Ashes To Ashes (Single Version)’
‘Under Pressure’ (with Queen)
‘Boys Keep Swinging’
‘“Heroes” (Single Version)’
‘Sound And Vision’
‘Golden Years (Single Version)’
‘Wild Is The Wind (2010 Harry Maslin Mix)’

CD 3:
‘Young Americans (2007 Tony Visconti Mix Single Edit)’
‘Diamond Dogs’
‘Rebel Rebel’
‘Drive-In Saturday’
‘All The Young Dudes’
‘The Jean Genie (Original Single Mix)’
‘Moonage Daydream’
‘Ziggy Stardust’
‘Starman (Original Single Mix)’
‘Life On Mars? (2003 Ken Scott Mix)’
‘Oh! You Pretty Things’
‘The Man Who Sold The World’
‘Space Oddity’
‘In The Heat Of The Morning’
‘Silly Boy Blue’
‘Can’t Help Thinking About Me’
‘You’ve Got A Habit Of Leaving’
‘Liza Jane’