James Murphy remixes David Bowie’s ‘Love Is Lost’

'Love Is Lost' (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy For The DFA) will appear on 'The Next Day Extra'

James Murphy’s remix of David Bowie‘s ‘Love Is Lost’ has received its first airplay this morning (October 10).

The LCD Soundsystem man’s reworking of the track premiered on BBC 6Music at 8.50am and will be available to stream on David Bowie’s website from midnight tonight. Artwork for the release, pictured above, is by Jonathan Barnbrook.

Murphy’s remix will appear on ‘The Next Day Extra’, the extended, three-disc version of Bowie’s 2013 comeback album ‘The Next Day’. Set for a November 4 release, ‘The Next Day Extra’ includes the original 14-track album, a 10-track CD of bonus songs and a DVD featuring the four videos made for the album: ‘Where Are We Now?’, ‘The Stars (Are Out Tonight)’, ‘The Next Day’ and ‘Valentine’s Day’. The bonus CD features four previously unreleased tracks titled ‘Atomica’, ‘The Informer’, ‘Like A Rocket Man’ and ‘Born In A UFO’. The bonus disc also contains ‘God Bless The Girl’, which was previously only released on the Japanese version of the album.


David Bowie stars on the cover of the new issue of NME, which is on sale nationwide and available digitally now. Celebrating the impending release of ‘The Next Day Extra’, we speak to Bowie acolytes including James Murphy, Trent Reznor and Black Francis about what makes Bowie so special, while producer Tony Visconti talks us through the new material on the expanded edition of ‘The Next Day’.

It marks the unveiling of a brand new NME, packed with new features and sporting a bold new look. “You could call the changes to NME a redesign, but we prefer to think of it as a reinvention,” said editor Mike Williams. “And in the spirit of reinvention, only one artist could grace this week’s cover: David Bowie. David Bowie is the cosmic umbilical cord that connects the past, present and future of music. The new NME aims to be the definitive guide to all the above.” Scroll down to see the cover.

‘The Next Day’ bonus album tracklisting is:

‘Love Is Lost’ (Hello Steve Reich mix by James Murphy)
‘The Informer’
‘Like A Rocket Man’
‘Born In A UFO’
‘I’d Rather Be High’ (Venetian Mix)
‘I’ll Take You There’
‘God Bless The Girl’
‘So She’

Subscribe to NME here, or get this week’s digital issue