Also confirmed are Suede, Supergrass and Badly Drawn Boy...

COLDPLAY, SUEDE, MERCURY REV and GORILLAZ are amongst the bands confirmed for [/a]’s MELTDOWN festival.

Meltdown takes place annually at the Festival Hall and QEH, and started life as a classical event. Each year a prominent or influential member the music world is approached to curate, and as time has progressed the festival has become more rock orientated. This year’s event runs between June 12-30.

The first set of shows has now been announced, which includes a rare indoor performance by [a] himself. ‘The New Heathens’ Night’ takes place on June 29 at the Royal Festival Hall, which also includes an appearance from [a][/a].

Other highlights include ‘Gorillaz’ Space Monkeyz Dub Session’, a one-off Meltdown event which sees Damon Albarn’s virtual band collaborating with the ex-Specials vocalist Terry Hall (June 21), Coldplay (June 22), Suede, (June 23) and Supergrass (28).

The line-up so far runs: Daniel Johnston / The Legendary Stardust Cowboy (June 15)

The Waterboys Acoustic (16)

The Divine Comedy (17)

Harry Hill (17)

Kimmo Pohjonen’s Kluster / The Lonesome Organist (18)

Television (19)

Gorillaz’ Space Monkeyz Dub Session with Terry Hall (21)

Asian Dub Foundation live score to La Haine (21)

Coldplay (22)

Suede (23)

Badly Drawn Boy (26)

Mercury Rev (27)

Supergrass (28)

David Bowie / The Dandy Warhols (29)

A film festival will run in conjunction with the event.