Air and Moby also make a contribution...

Who legend PETE TOWNSHEND, DAVE GROHL from the Foo Fighters, Air and Modjo have all contributed to the new David Bowie album.

Townshend and Grohl have each added guitar parts to the album, which will be released on Bowie’s own ISO label, via Columbia, on June 10.

Townshend, who last played with Bowie on his 1980 album, ’Scary Monsters’, plays lead guitar on a song called ’Slow Burn’. Bowie describes the performance as “the most eccentric and aggressive guitar I’ve heard Pete play, quite unlike anything else he’s done recently.”

The song also reunites Bowie with the Borneo Horns – a brass three-piece which backed him on his 1983 Serious Moonlight tour.

Modjo has remixed the album’s opening track, ’Sunday’, while French duo Air have supplied a remix of ’A Better Furniture’.

Other song titles tipped to make it to the final cut of the album include ’I Would Be Your Slave’ (which Bowie recently performed at the Tibet House benefit concert at New York’s Carnegie Hall), ‘Marching Wood Jackson’, ‘5.15 The Angels Have Gone’, ‘Marching’, ’Afraid’, ’Slip Away’, ‘Everyone Says Hi’ and the title track, ’Heathen’.

The album has been mixed by legendary producer Tony Visconti.