The megastar decides to let his music speak for itself...

DAVID BOWIE is to release a compilation of his moody instrumental recordings next month.

‘All Saints’ was originally compiled and privately pressed by Bowie in 1993. At the time, only 50 copies were manufactured and sent to the singer’s family and friends as a 2CD Christmas present.

Now a pared-down version, containing 16 tracks, will be released by Virgin on July 9. All the tracks were recorded between 1977 and 1999, and only two – ‘Warszawa’ and ‘V-2 Schneider’ – feature any kind of vocal.

All of the tracks have been remastered, and the cover features new artwork by Bowie.

Most of the music is taken from the star’s influential and critically-acclaimed late 70s ‘Berlin period’, which spawned ‘Low’, Heroes’, ‘Lodger’ and the Iggy Pop collaborations ‘The Idiot’ and ‘Lust For Life’.

Bowie can meanwhile be heard – singing this time – on the new Rustic Overtones album, Viva Nueva. He added his vocals to the songs ‘Sector Z’ and ‘Man Without A Mouth’ after befriending the band while recording his own ‘…hours’ album in 1999. Also in the shops is the Who tribute album ‘Substitute’, which features Bowie tackling ‘Pictures Of Lily’.

The full tracklisting for ‘All Saints’ is:

‘A New Career In Town’ V-2 Schneider ‘Abdulmajid’ ‘Weeping Wall’ ‘All Saints’ ‘Art Decade”Crystal Japan”Brilliant Adventure’

‘Sense Of Doubt’ ‘Moss Garden’ ‘Neukoln’ ‘The Mysteries’ ‘Ian Fish UK Heir’ ‘Subterraneans’ ‘Warszawa’ ‘Some Are’.