Listen to David Bowie covered by Trey Songz for HBO’s ‘Vinyl’

Tv on The Radio frontman also joins the ranks of commissioned artists for show's OST

Rapper Trey Songz has covered David Bowie‘s ‘Life on Mars’ for HBO hit series ‘Vinyl’ it has been reported (March 18).

The track originally appeared on Bowie’s 1971 album Hunky Dory and is being covered for the Martin Scorsese directed series, which focuses on the music industry in the 1970s.

“When I was approached last summer by the producers of Vinyl, the first thing I thought was, ‘Damn thats a David Bowie song!!'”Songz told Complex. “I was honored that the producers thought of such a legend and myself in the same breath. I had to do what I do best, because Icons like David paved the way. After learning of his passing I knew that this was a special moment in time and this cover became my personal tribute to David. Experiences like this have helped to shape my future and respect the past of others before me. This has become a very special moment in my career and I am blessed and grateful to be apart!”


Listen to the track below.

In other ‘Vinyl’ related news, TV On The Radio‘s Tunde Adebimpe has also released cover of Looking Glass’ 1972 song “Brandy (You’re a Fine Girl)”. You can also preview the track below.

The Strokes frontman Julian Casablancas, who has already covered ‘Run, Run, Run’ by the same band for the HBO TV series, has based a cover of ‘White Light/White Heat’ on the version that appears on Lou Reed’s 1974 ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Animal’ live album.

In addition to Casablancas paying tribute to Lou Reed and the New York band, covers by Iggy Pop, Alison Mosshart of The Kills and Dan Auerbach’s The Arcs have also been revealed. Pop tackles Nervous Breakdown’s ‘I Dig Your Mind’, Mosshart does ‘My Time’s Coming’ by The Punks and Bobby Parker’s ‘Watch Your Step’ is covered by Black Keys man Auerbach.


Vinyl airs on Sky Atlantic in the UK and tells the story of the 1970s music industry through the eyes of a New York-based label boss. The full soundtrack for the series was released on February 12. ‘Vinyl: Music From the HBO Original Series — Volume 1’ features music from the opening episode of Vinyl including songs by Otis Redding, Sturgill Simpson, Mott the Hoople, and more.

David Johansen has re-recorded New York Dolls’ ‘Personality Crisis’ as the Vinyl theme song while ‘Rotten Apple’ is a song by The Nasty Bits, a fictional band from the series fronted by James Jagger’s character. James Jagger is the son of Mick Jagger, who produced Vinyl alongside Martin Scorsese and Terence Winter.

Since the first episode aired, HBO have releaed a digital EP every Friday before a new episode airs on the Sunday. A second full-length soundtrack, ‘Vinyl: Music From the HBO Original Series — Volume 1: Finale’, will then be released on April 15.