David Byrne and Brian Eno join forces on new album

It's their first collaboration in three decades

David Byrne and Brian Eno have revealed the details of their first collaboration in nearly 30 years.

The singer and the legendary Coldplay and U2 producer, who worked together on three Talking Heads albums as well as 1981’s ‘My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts’, will self-release the new album ‘Everything That Happens Will Happen Today’. It is due out on August 18 via their own website.

The site currently features a video of Byrne discussing the collaboration in which he says, “I just finished a record with Brian Eno. He did most of the music and I wrote the lyrics and did the singing and we’re really happy with it.”


Fans can also sign up to receive a free download of one of the songs on August 4.

The album tracklisting (per Pitchfork) is:


‘My Big Nurse’

‘I Feel My Stuff’

‘Everything That Happens’


‘Life Is Long’

‘The River’

‘Strange Overtones’

‘Wanted for Life’

‘One Fine Day’

‘Poor Boy’

‘The Lighthouse’

They’ve also announced a handful of US tour dates to support the new album:

Newport News, VA Ferguson Center for the Arts (September 18)

Atlanta, GA Chastain Park Amphitheatre (20)

Austin, TX Zilker Park -Austin City Limits Festival (26)

Phoenix, AZ Orpheum Theatre (30)

San Diego, CA Humphreys Concerts by the Bay (October 2)

Santa Barbara, CA Arlington Theatre (4)

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.


The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts