Death Cab for Cutie’s Ben Gibbard covers Guided By Voices – watch

Band preparing to release new album 'Kintsugi'

Death Cab For Cutie frontman Ben Gibbard has performed an acoustic cover of Guided By Voices’ ‘Tractor Rape Chain’ for US satellite radio company SiriusXM, as reported by Pitchfork. Click above to watch.

Gibbard and his band are currently preparing to release new LP ‘Kintsugi’, their first album since the departure of long-time guitarist and producer Chris Walla from the group.

Walla played his final live show with Death Cab For Cutie last September, having been part of the band for 15 years. ‘Kintsugi’ – which is out on Monday (March 30) but available to stream right now – features some of his last work completed before leaving the band.

Speaking about Walla leaving the group, Gibbard recently told DIY: “I think that, knowing this was something that was coming – for years, honestly – there’s a particular kind of relief that comes when you know that the outcome that you’ve expected on the horizon is finally here, and you can finally move on with your life.

“I’m certainly not overflowing with joy that Chris left the band,” he added, “but at the same time, just having – finally after all these years – the catharsis of somebody who’s had – in some ways – one foot out the door for years, finally leave the band, it comes with a particular sense of relief.”

“I mean, honestly, I found it very bittersweet,” Gibbard continued. “But also, frankly very liberating. I think that when you’re making a record with a band and you’ve been doing it as long as we have, sometimes you do have to tiptoe around people and make sure you don’t hurt their feelings if you tell them that something’s not working. You know that you’re gonna be living with this person for the next year and a half, playing these songs.

“Particularly Chris and I’s relationship has been a complicated one over the years and I think that sometimes neither of us have said the thing we needed to say at the time because we were fearful of setting one another off.”

‘Tractor Rape Chain’ original appeared on Guided By Voice’s 1994 album ‘Bee Thousand’.

The ‘Kintsugi’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘No Room In Frame’
‘Black Sun’
‘The Ghosts Of Beverly Drive’
‘Little Wanderer’
‘You’ve Haunted Me All My Life’
‘Hold No Guns’
‘Everything’s A Ceiling’
‘Good Help (Is So Hard to Find)’
‘El Dorado’
‘Binary Sea’