Death Cab For Cutie cover The Cure on new compilation

Katy Perry tackles Sam Sparro on Valentine-themed album

Death Cab For Cutie are covering The Cure‘s – Godlike Geniuses at the 2009 Shockwave NME Awards‘Lovesong’ and Katy Perry is remaking Sam Sparro‘s ‘Black And Gold’ for a forthcoming Valentine’s Day-themed compilation.

Starbucks Entertainment is set to release ‘Sweetheart: Our Favorite Artists Sing Their Favorite Love Songs’ on January 30 in the US.

The second instalment of this series also includes Richard Hawley covering Gordon Lightfoot, New Pornographers‘ frontman AC Newman‘s take on A-Ha‘s ‘Take On Me’, and a remake of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins‘I Put A Spell On You’ by She & Him, which features Death Cab For Cutie frontman’s new fiancé Zooey Deschanel.

The album tracklisting is:

Death Cab for Cutie – ‘Lovesong’ (Cure cover)

Katy Perry – ‘Black and Gold’ (Sam Sparro cover)

DeVotchKa – ‘Hot Burrito #1 (I’m Your Toy)’ (Flying Burrito Brothers cover)

Department of Eagles – ‘Love Me’ (Elvis Presley cover)

Jessica Lea Mayfield – ‘Words of Love’ (Buddy Holly cover)

Ben Bridwell – ‘Your Love Is Forever’ (George Harrison cover)

Kate Tucker – ‘I’m on Fire’ (Bruce Springsteen cover)

Rogue Wave – ‘Maps’ (Yeah Yeah Yeahs cover)

A.C. Newman – ‘Take on Me’ (a-ha cover)

Jem – ‘Yellow’ (Coldplay cover)

Richard Hawley – ‘Early Morning Rain’ (Gordon Lightfoot cover)

Daniel Martin Moore – ‘I Hear Music’ (Billie Holiday cover)

She & Him – ‘I Put a Spell on You’ (Screamin’ Jay Hawkins cover)

Lila Downs – ‘My One and Only Love’ (Frank Sinatra cover)

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.