Deerhoof to release new album ‘La Isla Bonita’

American/Japanese quartet to release 13th album for their 20th anniversary

Deerhoof are to release new album ‘La Isla Bonita’ on November 3, 20 years after they formed in San Francisco.

The follow-up to 2012’s ‘Breakup Song’, it’s the four-piece’s first album to be made with an outside producer, Nick Sylvester, a former Pitchfork music journalist who was an early champion of the band.

The album was inspired by Deerhoof trying to write a song similar to their live cover of The Ramones’ ‘Pinhead’. It resulted in album opener ‘Exit Only’, which can be heard below. Drummer Greg Saunier said: “We suddenly realised ‘This is the whole thing, this is what the whole record is about.’”


Demos were recorded for a week at guitarist Ed Rodriguez’s home in Oregon before being sent to Sylvester, now the head of Godmode Records. Saunier said: “No-one gave much thought to microphone placement or other technical matters.”

Saunier founded the band in 1994 with guitarist Rob Fisk, initially solely for improvisations and jams, but they released their first album ‘The Man, The King, The Girl’ in 1997 after singer Satomi Matsuzaki joined a week after moving to the US from Japan.

Joanna Newsom had a short-lived side-project band, Nervous Cop, with Saunier and session drummer Zach Hill. They released one self-titled album in 2003.