'Counter Culture 2003' rounds up a year in the world of indie...

The ROUGH TRADE group will release an ‘indie review’ of 2003 in February next year.

‘Counter Culture 2003’ is the latest in the Rough Trade Shops series, and is released in conjunction with Mute on February 2.

The collection ties together heavyweight bestsellers and personal favourites from this year’s indie shelves, featuring Franz Ferdinand, Dizzee Rascal and Peaches, as well as lesser-known names such as Matmos and Some Product.


The full tracklisting is:


John Fahey – ‘Remember’

Iron & Wine – ‘Peng! 33’

Cody ChesnuTT (with Sonja Marie) – ‘With Me In Mind’

Asa-Chang & Junray – ‘Tsuginepu To Ittemita’


Kaada – ‘Care’

Seelenluft – ‘LA Woman’

The Postal Service – ‘The District Sleeps Alone Tonight’

Richard Hawley – ‘I’m On Nights’

The Earlies – ‘Morning Wonder’

Mugison – ‘Sea Y’

The Concretes – ‘New Friend’

Devendra Banhart – ‘Bluebird’

(The Real) Tuesday Weld – ‘Bathtime In Clerkenwell (All Natural Ingredients Mix)’

Trachtenburg Family Slideshow Players – ‘Eggs’

Mates Of State – Nice Things That Look Good’

Sufjan Stevens – ‘For The Widows In Paradise, For The Fatherless In Ypsilanti’

Matmos – ‘For The Trees’

Blanche – ‘Who’s To Say…’

Joy Zipper – ‘Check Out My New Jesus’

Rev AW Nix – ‘Black Diamond Express To Hell Part 1’


Kinski – ‘Rhode Island Freakout’

Les Georges Leningrad – ‘Didi Extra’

The Kills – ‘Fuck The People’

Some Product – ‘Sid Vicious Is Dead (Ed Laliq Mix)’

Mu – ‘Let’s Get Sick (Radio Edit)’

Dirtbombs – ‘My Love For You’

C Aarme – ‘Tu Puta Mi Casa’

Fat Truckers – ‘Ron Is Back’

Die Monitr Batss – ‘Spread Your Legs, Release The Bats’

Gossip – ‘Yesterdays News’

Colder – ‘Crazy Love (Radio Edit)’

T Raumschmiere feat Miss Kittin – ‘The Game Is Not Over’

Dizzee Rascal feat God’s Gift – ‘Hold Ya Mouf’

LFO – ‘Freak’

The Barcelona Pavilion – ‘New Materiology’

The Bumblebeez feat Vila – ‘Microphonediseases (Alt Mix)’

The Fiery Furnaces – ‘Crystal Clear’

Tramp Attack – ‘Eight Years Since School’

Franz Ferdinand – ‘Shopping For Blood’

Erase Errata – ‘The White Horse Is Bucking’

Peaches – ‘I U She’

The Boggs – ‘Low Light Hour’

The Futureheads – ‘A To B’

White Trash – ‘I Still Don’t Love You’

Selfish C*** – ‘Britain Is Shit’