Bookies favourite 'Boy In Da Corner' is this year's winner...

DIZZEE RASCAL is the winner of this year’s prestigious MERCURY MUSIC PRIZE.

The ceremony has now finished in central London (September 9), where the teenager was crowned by last year’s winner Ms Dynamite.

Other nominees included Lemon Jelly’s ’Lost Horizons’, Coldplay’s ’A Rush Of Blood To The Head’ and Radiohead’s ‘Hail To The Thief’


The nominees were:Coldplay – ‘A Rush Of Blood To The Head’

Radiohead – ‘Hail To The Thief’

The Darkness – ‘Permission To Land’

Dizzee Rascal – ‘Boy In Da Corner’

The Thrills – ‘So Much For The City’

Athlete – ‘Vehicles & Animals’


Terri Walker -‘Untitled’

Floetry – ‘Floetic’

Soweto Kinch – ‘Conversations With The Unseen’

Martina Topley-Bird – ‘Quixotic’

Eliza Carthy – ‘Anglicana’

Lemon Jelly – ‘Lost Horizons’

Despite the album being the bookies favourite to win, at the start of the week, hundreds of punters flooded Ladbrokes with bets on losers The Darkness to win the prize – even though the book was already closed.

The album joins a long list of winners who have had mixed commercial success following their album winning the Mercury Prize.The full list of previous winners is as follows:1992 – Primal Scream ‘Screamadelica’

1993 – Suede: ‘Suede’

1994 – M People: ‘Elegant Slumming’

1995 – Portishead: ‘Dummy’

1996 – Pulp: ‘Different Class’

1997 – Roni Size: ‘New Forms’

1998 – Gomez: ‘Bring It On’

1999 – Talvin Singh: ‘OK’

2000 – Badly Drawn Boy: ‘The Hour Of Bewilderbeast’

2001 – PJ Harvey: ‘Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea’

2002 – Ms Dynamite: ‘A Little Deeper’

What do you think of the winner? E-mail now.