Dizzee Rascal: ‘Daft Punk inspired a song on my new album’

Rapper also reckons his new material is going down well at festivals ahead of T In The Park slot

Dizzee Rascal has admitted that Daft Punk have influenced a track on his forthcoming album ‘The Fifth’.

The rapper said he was a big fan of the dance duo’s recent LP ‘Random Access Memories’ and Nile Rogers’ input into the record. He told The Daily Star: “I like that Nile Rodgers, Daft Punk funky feel. I got a track on the new album with that vibe.”

As previously reported, the rapper has roped in a number of guest artists for his new record, which is due out on September 30, including Robbie Williams, Jessie J and Tinie Tempah. He also said his new material has been going down well at festivals and his recent support slots with Muse and The Stone Roses, ahead of his appearance at T In The Park later this week.

He added: “I’ve been doing the new stuff from my album ‘The Fifth’ and it’s geared towards the live element. I know it works so I know festival crowds will like it.”

The Main Stage headliners at the bash this weekend (July 12-14) are Mumford and Sons, Rihanna and The Killers. Also included in the raft of artists set to appear are Foals, Haim, Phoenix, Snoop Dogg, Kendrick Lamar, Calvin Harris and Beady Eye, along with Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Kraftwerk.

The tracklisting for the rapper’s new album ‘The Fifth’ is as follows:

‘I Don’t Need A Reason’
‘We Don’t Play Around’ (ft Jessie J)
‘Good’ (ft Angel)
‘Spend Some Money’ (ft Tinie Tempah)
‘Arse Like That’ (ft Sean Kingston)
‘Something Really Bad’ (ft will.i.am)
‘Goin Crazy’ (ft Robbie Williams)
‘Love This Town’ (ft Teddy Sky)
‘H Town’ (ft Bun B and Trae Tha Truth)
‘Heart Of A Warrior’ (ft Teddy Sky)
‘Life Keeps Moving On’
Bonus Track – ‘Bassline Junkie’