Django Django shortlisted for Scottish Album of the Year Award

Band reach last ten of award alongside The Twilight Sad

Django Django have been shortlisted for the 2013 Scottish Album of the Year Award

Django Django’s self-titled debut album is one of 10 albums on the SAY longlist (despite only two members being Scottish) having made it onto the shortlist from an original longlist of 17 following a 24-hour public vote on May 27. The album with the most public votes, The Twilight Sad’s ‘No One Can Ever Know’, secured an automatic place on The SAY Award Shortlist of 10, with the other nine titles being chosen by an independent panel of judges.

Big names who missed out on making the shortlist include Calvin Harris and Emeli Sandé.


Speaking about the award, chair of the independent panel of judges, Glasgow Academic, John Williamson, said: “Although there was a strong longlist including some hugely commercially successful albums, the ten chosen for the short list are those that best reflect the range of music made by Scottish artists in 2012. It includes debut albums and ones by people who have been making music for thirty years; solo albums and collaborative projects; genres from folk music to hip-hop. It is perhaps a measure of the collective quality that it is hard to see an obvious winner from the ten.”

An overall winner of the SAY Award will be announced on June 20 at Barrowlands Ballroom in Glasgow.

The SAY Award Shortlist:

Admiral Fallow – ‘Tree Bursts In Snow’
Django Django – ‘Django Django’
Human Don’t Be Angry – ‘Human Don’t Be Angry’
Karine Polwart – ‘Traces’
Lau – ‘Race The Loser’
Meursault – ‘Something For The Weakened’
Paul Buchanan – ‘Mid Air’
RM Hubbert – ‘Thirteen Lost & Found’
Stanley Odd – ‘Reject’
The Twilight Sad – ‘No One Can Ever Know’