The Donnas reveal details of ‘Bitchin’ new album

They'll self-release it this autumn

The Donnas have announced that they will self-release their seventh album, ‘Bitchin’, on September 18 in the US and October 1 in the UK.

The follow-up to 2004’s ‘Gold Medal’ features 14 tracks co-produced by Jay Ruston (The Polyphonic Spree, Meat Loaf) and sees the band developing a fresh take on their sound free from label pressures, according to a band spokesperson.

“We know what we want, we know how to get it, and we are ready and willing to take it. It’s almost like we have come full circle,” said guitarist Allison Robertson in a statement.

“Maybe in some way we are still the same dorky pre-teens who started playing because we love rock n’ roll. The difference is that now we are completely comfortable and confident with who we are.”

‘Bitchin’ will be released via The Donnas‘ new label, Purple Feather Records.

They’re expected to announce autumn tour dates shortly.

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.