Manic Street Preachers support Doves in London

Bands play in honour of Heavenly record label

Doves and Manic Street Preachers came together last night (September 12) to play a one-off gig at London‘s Royal Festival Hall, to celebrate the 18-year anniversary of the launch of Heavenly Recordings.

The Manchester band are signed to Heavenly now, while Manic Street Preachers were signed to them in 1990, releasing their first two singles, ‘Motown Junk’ and ‘You Love Us’, through the label.

Taking the stage just after 8pm (BST), frontman James Dean Bradfield announced to the crowd: “We are the Manic Street Preachers. We were a Heavenly band for six songs,” before playing their six-song Heavenly repertoire.

With the Welsh trio beginning their set with a euphoric rendition of ‘Motown Junk’, the stage was set for a celebratory roll-call of the band’s earliest tracks.

So early, in fact, that after delighting the audience with ‘Starlover’, Bradfield joked: “You can tell me and [former guitarist] Richey [Edwards] were 19 when we wrote that, but you’re only young once.”

Manic Street Preachers played:

‘Motown Junk’

‘Sorrow 16’

‘We Her Majesty’s Prisoners’


‘Spectators Of Suicide’

‘You Love Us’

Doves, up next, were returning to the live scene after more than two years away from gigging action.

The band graced the stage without verbal introduction, greeting the audience by playing opener ‘Firesuite’.

They went on to play songs from their Nationwide Mercury Prize-nominated album, 2000’s ‘Lost Souls’, included ‘Sea Song’, ‘Break Me Gently’ and ‘Rise’.

The band also delved into their previous two records, 2002’s ‘The Last Broadcast’ and 2005’s ‘Some Cities’, playing ‘Pounding’, ‘Snowdon’ and ‘Caught By The River’. The latter song was affectionately dedicated to lead singer Jimi Goodwin‘s father.

Doves used the opportunity to try out a handful of new songs, playing ‘Winter Hill’, ‘Jetstream’, ‘Kingdom Of Rust’ and ‘The Outsiders’, all contenders for inclusion on the band’s forthcoming new album.

Doves played:



‘Winter Hill’

‘Almost Forget Myself’


‘Sea Song’



‘Break Me Gently’

‘Kingdom Of Rust’


‘The Outsiders’

‘Caught By The River’

‘There Goes The Fear’


‘Black And White Town’

‘Cedar Room’