More huge names added to Download Festival 2019 line-up

Ready to rock?

Download Festival have revealed the second wave of huge acts for 2019.

Topping the bill at the hallowed rock festival at Donington Park will be headliners Slipknot, Tool and Def Leppard (with the latter performing their classic album ‘Hysteria’ in full).

Joining them will be Smashing Pumpkins (in support of their acclaimed new album ‘Shiny And Oh So Bright Vol 1‘), Slayer playing their last ever UK gig and many more.

The full list of new additions is:

Alien Weaponry
Black Futures
Blackberry Smoke
Dream Theater
Eagles Of Death Metal
I Prevail
The Interrupters
Lamb Of God
Man With A Mission
Our Last Night
Riding The Low
Royal Republic
Smashing Pumpkins
State Champs
Yours Truly

Elsewhere on the line-up so far are Slash, Die Antwoord, Whitesnake, Rob Zombie, Trivium, Aman Amarth, Carcass, Delain, Me First And The Gimme Gimmes, Opeth, Power Trip, Reel Big Fish, Skindred, Starset, Tesla, The Amity Affliction and Underoath. Many more will be announced in the months ahead. Check out the full line-up so far below.

Download Festival takes place from June 14-16 at Donington Park. Tickets are available here.

The latest poster for Download Festival 2019

“We’re incredibly excited to announce three legends as Download 2019 headliners,” said festival boss Andy Copping. “It’s not quite been 10,000 Days since we have been able to indulge in one of our favourite alt-rock bands, but after thirteen years I am thrilled to announce Tool are finally making their long-awaited return to Download. Renowned for being one of the best live bands on the planet due to their one-of-a-kind performances, Slipknot are an incredible addition to the main stage.

“Last but not least, I am honoured to welcome true Rock N’ Roll legends Def Leppard to Download who bring with them a UK exclusive chance to see ‘Hysteria’ played in full.”

Slipknot’s Corey Taylor

Slipknot are currently at work on their new album – as well as plans to celebrate ‘All Is Hope Gone’ and their seminal debut.

It is also hoped that Tool will finally drop their new album in 2019, with fans still awaiting the follow-up to 2006’s ‘10,000 Days’.

These acts follow in the footsteps of Avenged Sevenfold, Guns N’ Roses, and Ozzy Osbourne, who headlined this year’s edition in June. They were joined on the bill by the likes of Marilyn Manson, Bullet For My Valentine, Black Stone Cherry, You Me At Six and Rise Against.

As ever, NME  was there to catch all the action, reviewing Guns N’ Roses “sublime and ridiculous” set, a battle between Ozzy Osbourne and Marilyn Manson for the undisputed ‘Prince of Darkness’ crown, and Avenged Sevenfold’s second time topping the bill.