Dr Dre releases first album in 16 years – stream ‘Compton’ now

The record features Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube and more

Dr Dre has released his long-awaited new album ‘Compton’.

The record was inspired by new NWA biopic Straight Outta Compton and follows on from the rapper/producer’s last effort ‘2001’ in 1999. The album has been described by Dre as his “grande finale”.

The eagerly anticipated LP features guest spots from Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, Xzibit and more.

Listen now at Apple Music.

Dr Dre recently announced that he will donate royalties earned from ‘Compton’ to the funding of a new performing arts and entertainment facility in the city of Compton.

“I feel it’s the right thing to do and I hope everybody appreciates the work I put into this album,” Dre told Zane Lowe, revealing that he’ll be working with Compton Mayor Aja Brown on the project.

“We’ve reached out to Aja Brown quite a few times in the last month or two. I’ve been really trying to do something special for Compton and just couldn’t quite figure out what it was. She actually had this idea and she was already in the process of working on it. I said, ‘Boom, this is what we should do.'”


Speaking on his Beats 1 show The Pharmacy on Saturday (August 1), Dre clarified that the album is not strictly a soundtrack, but is inspired by the upcoming NWA biopic Straight Outta Compton. He also revealed that he will not release the long-awaited album ‘Detox’ because “it wasn’t good.” Explaining why the record was scrapped after 16 years in the making, Dre added: “I didn’t like it.”

The ‘Compton: A Soundtrack’ tracklisting is:

‘Talk About It’ [feat. King Mez and Justus]
‘Genocide’ [feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius and Candice Pillay]
‘It’s All on Me’ [feat. Justus and BJ The Chicago Kid]
‘All in a Day’s Work’ [feat. Anderson Paak and Marsha Ambrosius]
‘Darkside/Gone’ [feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius and Kendrick Lamar]
‘Loose Cannons’ [feat. Xzibit and COLD 187um]
‘Issues’ [feat. Ice Cube and Anderson Paak]
‘Deep Water’ [feat. Kendrick Lamar and Justus]
‘One Shot One Kill’ [feat. Snoop Dogg]
‘Just Another Day’ [feat. Asia Bryant]
‘For the Love of Money’ [feat. Jill Scott and Jon Connor]
‘Satisfaction’ [feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius and King Mez]
‘Animals’ [feat. Anderson Paak]
‘Medicine Mane’ [feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay and Anderson Paak]
‘Talking to My Diary’

Straight Outta Compton will receive its UK release on August 28. It stars O’Shea Jackson Jr, Corey Hawkins and Jason Mitchell as Ice Cube, Dr Dre and Eazy-E, and is directed by F Gary Gray.