Earl Sweatshirt to release new album ‘Doris’ this July

Odd Future rapper finally reveals release date for follow-up to 2010 debut 'Earl'

Earl Sweatshirt has revealed that he will release his new LP ‘Doris’ this July.

The Odd Future rapper told MTV Australia that he had finally set a release date for the long-awaited follow-up to his 2010 debut record ‘Earl’, stating: “I’m wrapping everything up so it’s coming out in July. I can’t wait for this shit to come out already so I can finally exhale.”

Over the past six months, the hip-hop star has previewed a handful of tracks from the LP. In late 2012 he premiered the song ‘Chum’, while in March of this year he unveiled the video for his track ‘Whoah!’, with the clip featuring a cameo from Tyler, The Creator and other members of Odd Future – scroll down to the bottom of the page to watch.

He also debuted a number of new tracks when performing live as a special guest of producer Flying Lotus at his LA club, Low End Theory. The rapper dropped three new songs titled ‘Hive’, ‘Guild’ and ‘Burgundy’, with the latter being produced by Pharrell Williams.

Earlier this year, meanwhile, Sweatshirt signed a deal with Columbia Records/Sony to have his own record label imprint, called Tan Cressida, on which ‘Doris’ will be released. Speaking about the record said: “I anticipate a loss of fans. I also anticipate gaining some. So. You know. Yeah… I hope i lose you as a fan if you only fuck with me cause i rapped about raping girls when i was 15… I fucking love how it sounds. And uhh. Thats what matters… Im gonna go out on a limb and say that you can hear the progression.”