Earl Sweatshirt blasts record label for mishandling promotion of new album

'Zero percent of what was supposed to go right went right. Like, y'all got an F'

Odd Future’s Earl Sweatshirt has hit out at Columbia Records for announcing his new album without his permission.

The follow-up to his 2013 album ‘Doris’, ‘I Don’t Like Shit, I Don’t Go Outside’ was released this week (March 23), announced as a surprise last week (March 16). However, the rapper has now told NPR Music that the news leaked early.

In the interview, Earl states that only the video for his new single ‘Grief’ was meant to go live last week. Instead, the tracklisting, release date and artwork were all revealed, but the clip was not.


“Brah, I was devastated,” Earl says. “I was so mad cause it was like — especially because I feel like this is my first album. This is the first thing that I’ve said that I fully stand behind, like the good and the bad of it. I’ve never been behind myself this much. So for them to not treat as importantly as I was treating it was just like — I couldn’t help but to feel a little disrespected, you know?”

He continued: “They let it get spun like I was on a pedestal, complaining about some nuances, you know what I mean?” he said. “When it was really like zero percent of what was supposed to go right went right. Like, y’all got an F. It’s not chill. Like, ‘You’re in the red zone.’ And no one acted like they were in the red zone. That’s what had me the most hot.”

Watch the video for ‘Grief’ below.

The ‘I Don’t Like Shit, I Don’t Go Outside’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Off Top’
‘Grown Ups’ [ft. Dash]
‘AM // Radio’ [ft. Wiki]
‘Dna’ [ft. Na’kel]
‘Wool’ [ft. Vince Staples]