East India Youth to release ‘imagined soundtrack’ to ‘20,000 Leagues Under The Sea’ – listen

The bonus material features a 54-minute soundtrack to 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea

East India Youth has announced details of an expanded version of his Mercury Prize-nominated debut album ‘Total Strife Forever’.

The new version, which will be released on October 27 through Stolen Records, will feature a bonus CD comprising of a 54-minute imagined soundtrack to the 1916 silent film 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea.

Scroll down to listen to a five-minute excerpt of the new material.


A statement from East India Youth, aka London musician William Doyle, about the release reads as follows:

“I was initially approached by people who were running the film section at Bestival 2013 to perform a live soundtrack to the 1916 silent version of 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea, directed by Stuart Paton. The film is a groundbreaking piece of cinematography, featuring as it does the first underwater sequences in a motion picture ever. The atmosphere and darkness of the underwater shots were a good fit for my general style, and I’d long been waiting to soundtrack a film so I jumped at the chance. My score is actually to a special edit of the film provided by the festival, and I performed it live to an audience of about six people at half past midnight immediately after playing my usual set in a different tent.”

The expanded version of ‘Total Strife Forever’ will be released in a double CD and expanded digital download. ‘20,000 Leagues Under The Sea’ will also be available as a stand alone CD and digital download.

‘Total Strife Forever’ has been nominated for the Mercury Music Prize 2014 alongside current bookies’ favourite FKA Twigs, Damon Albarn, Royal Blood, Jungle and others.

The winner of the Barclaycard Mercury Prize is announced on October 29 at London’s Roundhouse.