Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes frontman, U2 win Golden Globes

The musicians scored prizes at last night's ceremony in Los Angeles

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes frontman Alex Ebert has won the Golden Globe award for Best Original Score, for the film All Is Lost.

Ebert picked up the trophy last night (January 12) in Los Angeles, beating John Williams’s score for The Book Thief and the Hans Zimmer composed soundtrack for 12 Years a Slave. “I cannot believe this… This is crazy,” said Ebert on receiving the gong, writes The Hollywood Reporter.

The evening’s other musical winner was U2, who won the the award for Best Original Song award for their track, ‘Ordinary Love’, which featured in Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom. Also nominated in that category were Coldplay for ‘Atlas’ from Hunger Games; Catching Fire and Taylor Swift and fun.‘s Jack Antonoff, who wrote ‘Sweeter Than Fiction’ for One Chance. U2’s The Edge said of their win: “We have been working for President Mandela since the 70s… since we were teenagers when we did our very first concert again apartheid. Its taken us 35 years to write this song.” Bono went on to say: “This man turned our lives upside down – right side up. He refused to hate because he thought love would do a better job.”

12 Years A Slave and American Hustle won the big film prizes at the Golden Globes. 12 Years A Slave was named Best Film (drama) whilst American Hustle pulled in the most awards with three gongs, for Best Musical/Comedy, as well as seeing its stars Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence, receiving nods for Best Actress in a motion picture (musical or comedy) and Supporting Actress. The awards were hosted by Tina Fey and Amy Poehler at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills.

Matthew McConaughey won the award for Best Actor in a motion picture (drama) for Dallas Buyers Club beating Chiwetel Ejiofor for 12 Years a Slave and Idris Elba in Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom whilst Cate Blanchett was named Best Actress in a motion picture (drama) for Blue Jasmine. Best Director for motion picture was awarded to Alfonso Cuaron for Gravity.