Egyptian Hip Hop unveil new track and album details – listen

Manchester electro-pop four-piece's debut 'Good Dont Sleep' will be released on October 22

Egyptian Hip Hop have unveiled details of their debut LP and a brand new track – scroll down to listen to it.

‘Good Dont Sleep’, is the Manchester electro four-piece’s full-length debut, following 2009’s Hudson Mohawke-produced EP ‘Some Reptiles Grew Wings’. It is set to be released on dance label R&S records on October 22.

During their hiatus, singer Alexander Hewett spent time as a touring musician for Connan Mockasin and Charlotte Gainsbourg.


Speaking about producing ‘Some Reptiles Grew Wings’, Hudson Mohawke – who has since worked with Azealia Banks, Kanye West and Chris Brown – told NME: “I wanted to cut my teeth on it, start doing band production…The entire thing was an experiment but it came out quite good. We went into the studio with an old German guy who built the mixing desks for Kraftwerk. He only ever built two. One’s in a museum in Germany, and he has the other.”

The album was recorded in Leeds and in Wales at Bryn Derwen studios and was produced by Wild Beasts collaborator Richard Formby. ‘SYH’ is the track to be released from the album, which you can listen to below.

The tracklisting for ‘Good Don’t Sleep’ is as follows:

‘The White Falls’
‘Yoro Diall
‘Strange Vale’
‘Snake Lane West’
‘Pearl Sound’
‘One Eyed King’