Four songs have been written, so the five-year gap between the first two albums will hopefully prove a one-off...

ELASTICA have written four new songs for a new album, the follow-up to ‘The Menace’, can reveal.

The band notoriously had a five-year gap between albums following the release of debut LP ‘Elastica’ in March 1995.

A week before the band headed off on their first American tour in four years, the group were in the studio laying down tracks which they hope to continue working on when they return from the Stateside jaunt.

Calling from Detroit two weeks into the tour, drummer Justin Welch said:

“We recorded four before we went away. One’s called ‘Bitch Don’t Work’, which we’re playing live in the set. One’s called ‘No Good’, and the other couple… I’m not quite sure what they’re called. We’ve got to look at them when we get back and decide if we need to re-record them.”

You can find out more about Elastica‘s new material, and more about the reaction to them in the US in this week’s NME (October 7), in UK shops today.