Elbow, Ting Tings, Coldplay win Ivor Novello Awards

Mancunians pick up two honours at songwriting ceremony

Elbow were double winners at today’s (May 20) Ivor Novello Awards, with The Ting Tings also picking up a major prize.

The ceremony, which celebrates British songwriting, took place at London‘s Grosvenor House Hotel.

Adding to their already impressive cache of awards, Elbow won the Best Contemporary Song for their track ‘Grounds For Divorce’. Their song ‘One Day Like This’ beat off competition from The Last Shadow Puppets to be named Best Song Musically And Lyrically.

The Ting Tings, meanwhile, beat off Duffy and Coldplay to win the Album Award. However, neither artist went home empty-handed, winning the awards decided by statistics rather than the panel of songwriters.

Coldplay‘s ‘Viva La Vida’ emerged as this year’s Best Selling British Song, while Duffy‘s ‘Rockferry’ was named the PRS For Music’s Most Performed Song.

Five special awards were also handed out. Edwyn Collins picked up The Ivors Inspiration Award while a Special International Award.

Erasure‘s Vince Clarke was honoured for his Outstanding Song Collection, while Massive Attack‘s Robert Del Naja and Grant Marshall were honoured with the PRS For Music Outstanding Contribution To British Music Award.

Finally, Eg White was named Songwriter Of The Year and James MacMillan was given the Ivors Classical Music Award.

The winners and nominees at the 54th Ivor Novello Awards were:

Best Song Musically And Lyrically:
Winner: Elbow – ‘One Day Like This’
Nominees: The Last Shadow Puppets – ‘My Mistakes Were Made For You’, The Leisure Society – ‘The Last Of The Melting Snow’

Best Contemporary Song:
Winner: Elbow – ‘Grounds For Divorce’
Nominees: Dizzee Rascal – ‘Dance Wiv Me’, The Ting Tings – ‘That’s Not My Name’

Best Original Film Score:
Winner: Jonny Greenwood – ‘There Will Be Blood’
Nominees: David Arnold – ‘Quantum of Solace’, Benjamin Wallfisch – ‘The Escapist’

Best Television Soundtrack:
Winner: Julian Nott – ‘Wallace And Gromit (A Matter of Loaf and Death)’
Nominees: Ben Bartlett – ‘Fiona’s Story’, Anne Dudley – ‘Trial and Retribution 2008’

PRS For Music Most Performed Work:
Winner: Duffy – ‘Mercy’
Nominees: Gabriella Cilmi – ‘Sweet About Me’, Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida’

Best Selling British Song:
Winner: Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida’
Nominees: Duffy – ‘Mercy’, M.I.A – ‘Paper Planes’

Album Award:
Winner: The Ting Tings – ‘We Started Nothing’
Nominees: Duffy – ‘Rockferry’, Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida or Death And All His Friends’

Outstanding Song Collection:
Winner: Vince Clarke

PRS For Music Outstanding Contribution To British Music Award:
Winner: Robert Del Naja and Grant Marshall (Massive Attack)

The Ivors Classical Music Award:
Winner: James MacMillan