Elbow top critics’ album choice of 2008

MGMT and TV On The Radio also make the list

Elbow‘s ‘The Seldom Seen Kid’ has been voted the UK music critics’ album of the year.

The Mercury-winning record was voted top in the ‘Poll Of Polls’ survey conducted by HMV which took in votes from media critics, staff and online customers.

It pulled in 18 nominations in total across 35 publications, sites and organisations that were polled.


Portishead‘s comeback album ‘Third’ came second with 17 votes while Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds‘Dig, Lazarus, Dig’, came third and Fleet Foxes and Vampire Weekend‘s debut albums came fourth and fifth.

TV On The Radio‘s ‘Dear Science’, which was also voted number two in NME‘s album of 2008, came in sixth while NME‘s number one album MGMT‘s ‘Oracular Spectacular’, finished seventh.

Elsewhere, Bon Iver‘s ‘For Emma Forever Ago’ finished eighth, Glasvegas‘ self titled debut came in ninth and Hot Chip‘s third album ‘Made In The Dark’ finished at number 10.

HMV‘s Rock & Pop Buyer, Damian Evans, said: “The poll reflects an excellent, eclectic year in music with some exciting new artists featuring prominently.

Fleet Foxes, Vampire Weekend, MGMT and Bon Iver have really made their mark with wonderful debut albums, underlining how vibrant the music scene is right now.

“Established artists such as Portishead, Nick Cave and Metallica have also returned to great acclaim, although I suspect few people would dispute that Elbow have given us the album of the year.


“They were popular winners of the Nationwide Mercury Prize, and they now deservedly top the HMV Poll Of Polls as well.”

The ‘Poll Of Polls’ albums of the year are:

1. Elbow – ‘The Seldom Seen Kid’

2. Portishead – ‘Third’

3. Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds – ‘Dig, Lazarus, Dig’

4. Fleet Foxes – ‘Fleet Foxes’

5. Vampire Weekend – ‘Vampire Weekend’

6. TV On The Radio – ‘Dear Silence’

7. MGMT – ‘Oracular Spectacular’

8. Bon Iver – ‘For Emma Forever Ago’

9. Glasvegas – ‘Glasvegas’

10. Hot Chip – ‘Made In The Dark’