Elbow, Last Shadow Puppets, MIA nominated for Ivor Novello Awards

Duffy, Jonny Greenwood and Coldplay are also nominated

Coldplay and Duffy lead the way in the nominations for the 54th Ivor Novello Awards, with both artists up for three gongs.

Elbow, The Last Shadow Puppets, Dizzee Rascal, MIA, Jonny Greenwood and The Ting Tings are also nominated for awards at the ceremony, which takes place at London‘s Grosvenor House on May 21.

Elbow will battle it out with The Last Shadow Puppets in the coveted ‘Best Song Musically And Lyrically’ category, alongside relative unknown Nick Hemming, whose song ‘The Last Of The Melting Snow’ (performed under his Leisure Society moniker) is also nominated.


Elsewhere, Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood‘s score for ‘There Will Be Blood’ also receives a nomination.

The full list of nominations for the 54th Ivor Novello Awards are as follows:

Best Song Musically And Lyrically:
The Last Shadow Puppets – ‘My Mistakes Were Made For You’
Elbow – ‘One Day Like This’
The Leisure Society – ‘The Last Of The Melting Snow’

Best Contemporary Song:
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Dance Wiv Me’
Elbow – ‘Grounds For Divorce’
The Ting Tings – ‘That’s Not My Name’

Best Original Film Score:
David Arnold – ‘Quantum of Solace’
Benjamin Wallfisch – ‘The Escapist’
Jonny Greenwood – ‘There Will Be Blood’

Best Television Soundtrack:
Ben Bartlett – ‘Fiona’s Story’
Anne Dudley – ‘Trial and Retribution 2008’
Julian Nott – ‘Wallace And Gromit (A Matter of Loaf and Death)’

PRS For Music Most Performed Work:
Duffy – ‘Mercy’
Gabriella Cilmi – ‘Sweet About Me’
Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida’


Best Selling British Song:
Duffy – ‘Mercy’
M.I.A – ‘Paper Planes’
Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida’

Album Award:
Duffy – ‘Rockferry’
Coldplay – ‘Viva La Vida or Death And All His Friends’
The Ting Tings – ‘We Started Nothing’


The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts