Three members have gone, but the band are already on the road with a new line-up...

Electric Six may have scored their second massive hit in the UK but NME.COM can exclusively reveal THREE members have left the band.

Yesterday, ‘Gay Bar’ followed the Detroit group’s debut single ‘Danger! High Voltage’ into the upper reaches of the Top Ten. However, the band were out on the road playing their first shows in the US with a brand new line-up. Out are guitarists Rock and Roll Indian, Surge Joebot and bassist Disco, leaving singer Dick Valentine and drummer M as the only founding members.

A statement issued to NME.COM reads: “Your favourite band, Electric Six, on the eve of securing their second UK Top Five single with ‘Gay Bar’, can now officially announce, as bands tend to do on the eve of a second UK Top Five single, personnel changes.

“Not one, not two but three new members have joined the fold, replacing the same number who obviously have now left. This decision was made by all of the previous incarnation of the band on the eve of their last UK tour but has been kept under wraps until now.

“After fulfilling all their remaining commitments, Rock’n’Roll Indian, Surge Joebot and Disco have departed and incoming are Johnny Na$hinal, The Colonel and Frank Lloyd Bonaventure. The original line-up of the band, Dick Valentine and M remain, as does synthist Tait Nucleus. The current band is fully comprised of residents of Detroit City and already out on the road.”

The split won’t change the release of their album ‘Fire’ on June 30, followed by a single ‘Dance Commander’ in August. For more, see this week’s NME, which is out in London tomorrow and nationwide Wednesday.