Elliott Smith double album set for release

'New Moon' will feature 24 songs

A double album featuring 24 songs from the late Elliott Smith will be released in May.

Recorded between 1995 and 1997, the songs include ’Angel In The Snow’, ’Talking To Mary’, ’High Times’’ and ’Either/Or’.

A significant portion of proceeds from the album sales will go directly to Outside In, a Portland-based social service organisation dedicated to providing diverse services for homeless youth and low-income adults.


Elliott Smith died in October 2003, in his home in Los Angeles from two apparently self-inflicted stab wounds to the chest. However, to date the coroner has been unable to conclusively determine the cause of death, and the investigation by the Los Angeles Police Department remains open.

The tracklisting for ‘New Moon’ is:

Disc 1:

‘Angel In The Snow’

‘Talking To Mary


‘High Times’

‘New Monkey’

‘Looking Over My Shoulder’

‘Going Nowhere’

‘Riot Coming’

‘All Cleaned Out’

‘First Timer’

‘Go By’

‘Miss Misery’ (early version)


Disc 2:

‘Georgia Georgia’

‘Whatever (folk song in c)’

‘Big Decision’


‘New Disaster’

‘Seen How Things Are Hard’

‘Fear City’


‘Pretty Mary K’ (other version)

‘Almost Over’

‘See You Later’

‘Half Right’

’New Moon’ will be released on May 8.

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.