Elvis Costello to release ‘secret’ album

Legend plans summer release for 'acoustic' LP

Elvis Costello will release new album called ‘Secret, Profane And Sugarcane’ on June 1.

The LP was recorded in three days at Nashville‘s Sound Emporium Studio and was produced by long-term collaborator T Bone Burnett.

Rather than his regular backing group, Costello was joined by a number of American country music and bluegrass musicians for the largely acoustic effort.

The tracklisting is:

‘ Down Among the Wine And Spirits’
‘Complicated Shadows’
‘I Felt the Chill’
‘My All Time Doll’
‘Hidden Shame’
‘She Handed Me a Mirror’
‘I Dreamed of My Old Lover’
‘How Deep is the Red’
‘She Was No Good’
‘Sulfur To Sugarcane’
‘Red Cotton’
‘The Crooked Line’
‘Changing Partners’

‘I Felt The Chill’ is Costello‘s second co-write with Loretta Lynn. Meanwhile, a previous version of ‘Complicated Shadows’ featured on ‘All This Useless Beauty’, while ‘Hidden Shame’ was previously recorded by Johnny Cash.

Closing track ‘Changing Partners’ was made famous by Bing Crosby.