The album will be supported by a gig...

ELVIS COSTELLO, THE LA’S, SHACK, CAST, THE LIGHTNING SEEDS and ECHO & THE BUNNYMEN are set to feature on a new compilation highlighting LIVERPOOL’s contribution to music.

The album ‘Mersey Boys And Liverpool Girls: The Sounds From The Mersey 1978-2001’, was put together by Liverpool FC Museum And Tour Centre curator Stephen Done. The compilation also features Space, Wings and The Real People.

The album, which is out on April 2 through EMI, will be launched with a concert at Liverpool John Moores University on March 22, featuring Ian McNabb, Amsterdam, Steven Kennedy, Speed and Danny from Ladytron.

The full tracklisting for ‘Mersey Boys And Liverpool Girls’ is:

Ian McNabb ‘Liverpool Girl’

Cast ‘Sandstorm’

The Real People ‘People On the Telly’

Echo & The Bunnymen ‘Back of Love’

Shack ‘I Want You’

Elvis Costello ‘Oliver’s Army

Wings ‘Deliver Your Children’

It’s Immaterial ‘Driving Away From Home’

The La’s ‘Feelin”

Steven Kennedy ‘My Beautiful Land’

Speed ‘Good Luck Charm

The Christians ‘Forgotten Town’

China Crisis ‘King In A Catholic Style’

Thomas Lang ‘The Happy Man’

The Farm ‘Groovy Train’

Ladytron ‘He Took Her to A Movie’

OMD ‘Julia’s Song’

Lightning Seeds ‘Lucky You’

Space ‘Diary Of A Wimp’

Amsterdam ‘It Hurts’

The Mighty Wah! ‘Heart As Big As Liverpool’