The group hold back a number of tickets for sale on the door of the Tower Ballroom as a gesture to fans...

A triumphant EMBRACE opened their two-night residency at BLACKPOOL‘s TOWER BALLROOM last night (May 4) with a special gesture to fans. Despite the 2,000 capacity venue being officially sold out, a number of tickets had been held back for sale on the door in an effort to thwart touts.

With support from JJ72 and Witness, the show provided the first proper headlining live outing in the UK for the band’s second album Drawn From Memory, released in March through Hut. Their last live appearance in this country was a fan club only show at London‘s Hanover Grand, and before that they played the London Astoria in January as part of the NME Premier Shows.

Opening with album track ‘New Adam New Eve’, the group played material from both the new album and their 1998 debut ‘The Good Will Out’. Singer Danny McNamara seemed elated at the reaction, telling the audience, “We’re not fucking coming down!” Later on, before an acoustic rendition of ‘Liar’s Tears’, Danny went further, saying, “You just never know when it’s all going to end, I’ll probably remember tonight for the rest of my life. I’m just some Yorkshire lad who’s done alright.”

Before the final encore of ‘Fireworks’, the band played an unexpected cover of ‘Three Is The Magic Number’, the Bobby Darin standard made famous by De La Soul, as well as an untitled new song which Danny admitted “should have been on the album”.

Embrace play Blackpool again tonight (May 5), with Coldplay replacing Witness as support, before moving to London‘s Shepherd’s Bush Empire on Sunday 7, with Doves and JJ72. They are also confirmed to play the Glastonbury, T in the Park and the Carling Reading/Leeds festivals.

For Leeds tickets, go to the Ticketshop – click here

Or call the NME 24-Hour Ticketline on 0870 1 663 663. Calls are charged at national standard rate. For Reading tickets, call Ticketmaster on 0870 534 4444.

‘Save Me’, the third single to be lifted from Drawn From Memory, is released on 22 May through Hut, backed on CD1 with two new tracks: ‘Get On Board’ and ‘Still So Young’, the songwriting debut from drummer Mike Heaton. CD2 features Perfecto and Reverend Bass remixes of ‘Save Me’.