That "controversial new direction gets a full public airing...

EMBRACE debuted five new songs from their forthcoming ‘Drawn From Memory’ LP during their triumphant headline slot at the NME Premier Show Friday night: ‘Yeah You’, ‘The Love It Takes’, ‘Save Me’, ‘You’re Not Alone’ and ‘I’ve Been Running’.

‘You’re Not Alone’ and ‘I’ve Been Running’ were slower, introspective ballads in the ‘Fireworks’ mould, the others displayed a less sentimental and more straight-forward rock sensibility than tracks from the band’s 1998 LP ‘The Good Will Out’.

Following the anthemic ‘Yeah You’, frontman Danny McNamara described ‘The Love It Takes’ – a slow burning ballad with a guitar solo crescendo – as his “favourite song off the new album”, and jokingly introduced ‘Save Me’ – a rollicking number featuring handclaps and jangly guitar – as representative of the band’s “controversial new direction.”

[url=]Click here for the full review.

The show will be webcast tonight at 7pm – [url=]click here .