Eminem, Rihanna and Atoms For Peace among nominees for first YouTube Awards

MIA, Earl Sweatshirt and Tyler, The Creator added to performers for November 3 ceremony

Eminem, Rihanna and Atoms For Peace are among the nominees for the first ever YouTube Awards later this year.

The inaugural YouTube Awards will take place on November 3 at Pier 36 in New York and will be live streamed around the world on the video sharing site. Jason Schwartzman, known for roles in Rushmore and The Darjeeling Limited, will host while Where The Wild Things Are director Spike Jonze will act as creative director for the show. The 90-minute ceremony will see six awards handed out as well as the live performances with all winners voted for by YouTube users.

Billboard has today (October 22) revealed the nominees for each category, which include prizes for the most creative and innovative music videos on YouTube as well as the best fan remix, parody or response videos on the platform. Artists who have picked up nominations include viral sensations such as Epic Rap Battles, Psy and Macklemore as well as established artists such as Bat For Lashes, Kendrick Lamar and Toro Y Moi. Scroll down to see the full list of nominees now.

In addition to the nominations, it has also been confirmed that MIA will perform at the awards, as will Tyler, The Creator and Earl Sweatshirt. They join the previously announced performers Arcade Fire, Eminem and Lady Gaga at the ceremony.

YouTube awards 2013 nominations:

Video of the Year: Nominees represent the videos with the most fan engagement on YouTube over the last year.

Epic Rap Battles Of History – ‘Barack Obama vs Mitt Romney’
Demi Lovato – ‘Heart Attack’
Girls’ Generation ­- ‘I Got A Boy’
Justin Bieber (feat. Nicki Minaj) – ‘Beauty And A Beat’
Lady Gaga ­- ‘Applause’
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (feat. Mary Lambert) – ‘Same Love’
Miley Cyrus ­ – ‘We Can’t Stop’
One Direction – ‘Best Song Ever’
PSY – ‘Gentleman’
Selena Gomez ­ – ‘Come & Get It’

Artist of the Year: Focused on acts YouTube fans have made stars, nominees represent the most watched, shared, liked, and subscribed ­to artists.

Epic Rap Battles
Justin Bieber
Katy Perry
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Nicki Minaj
One Direction
Taylor Swift

Response of the Year: Best fan remix, parody or response video, these nominees represent the top “unofficial” fan videos on YouTube based on views, shares and other social activity.

Boyce Avenue (feat. Fifth Harmony) ­- ‘Mirrors’
Jayesslee ­- ‘Gangnam Style’
Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix ­- ‘Radioactive’
ThePianoGuys ­- ‘Titanium / Pavane’
Walk Off the Earth (feat. KRNFX) – ‘I Knew You Were Trouble’

YouTube Phenomenon: Nominees are based on the phenomena that generated the most fan videos.

Rihanna – ‘Diamonds’
Psy – ‘Gangnam Style’
Baauer – ‘Harlem Shake’
Taylor Swift – ‘I Knew You Were Trouble’
Macklemore – ‘Thrift Shop’

YouTube Breakthrough: Focusing on breakout new acts, nominees represent the artists who experienced the biggest growth in views and subscribers.

Kendrick Lamar
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Naughty Boy

Innovation of the Year: Most creative and innovative music videos on YouTube.

Anamanaguchi ­- ‘ENDLESS FANTASY’
Atoms For Peace ­- ‘Ingenue’
Bat For Lashes ­- ‘Lilies’
DeStorm ­- ‘See Me Standing’
Toro Y Moi – ‘Say That’