Eric Clapton dedicates ‘Jingle Bells’ to Avicii on new album ‘Happy Xmas’

Clapton is no Grinch

Eric Clapton has announced details on his seasonal “blues tinged” album Happy Xmas, that will include an original track and a dedication to DJ Avicii.

The guitar giant’s 25th studio album is to be released on October 12 and will include a mix of traditional and lesser known Christmas songs. Clapton’s version of “Jingle Bells” is dedicated to “the memory Avicii,” the DJ who was found dead from an apparent suicide in April.

Happy Xmas will also feature the original track ‘For Love on Christmas Day’.


Clapton has provided hand-drawn artwork for the album with an illustration of a smiling Father Christmas, signed off “E.C. xxx”.

He told Billboard: “I had in my head that these holiday songs could be done with a slight blues tinge, and I started to figure out how to play the blues lines in between the vocals,

“I got it down and one of the most identifiable songs on the album, the one that became the foundational style, is ‘Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.’”

Clapton is no stranger to spreading Christmas joy with some blues, his renditions of holiday standards featured on A Very Special Christmas Live, a live album from a holiday-themed December 1998 concert held by President Bill Clinton and, of course, there’s his appearance on the The Chas & Dave Christmas TV Special in 1982.


Happy Xmas is now available for preorder.

Happy Xmas Track List

1. White Christmas
2. Away In A Manger (Once In Royal David’s City)
3. For Love On Christmas Day
4. Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday
5. Christmas Tears
6. Home For The Holidays
7. Jingle Bells (In Memory Of Avicii)
8. Christmas In My Hometown
9. It’s Christmas
10. Sentimental Moments
11. Lonesome Christmas
12. Silent Night
13. Merry Christmas Baby
14. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

You May Like