Arcade Fire/Last Shadow Puppets collaborator to release new album

Owen Pallett, aka Final Fantasy, is returning

Final Fantasy, aka composer/musician Owen Pallett, who has worked with Arcade Fire and The Last Shadow Puppets, is set to return with a new album in January.

The third Final Fantasy album, which will be instrumental and entitled ‘Heartland’, will be released on January 11.

The album features Arcade Fire drummer Jeremy Gara, was helmed by engineer Mio ├×├│rrison and recorded in Reykjavik and Prague. Rusty Santos (Animal Collective, Panda Bear) mixed the album.

“The songs themselves form a narrative concerning a farmer named Lewis and the fictional world of Spectrum,” said Pallett of the record. “The songs are one-sided dialogues with Lewis, a young, ultra-violent farmer, speaking to his creator. The album was compositionally modelled upon the principles of electronic music. The principles of analogue synthesis informing symphonic writing, like an inversion of a Tomita record.

“These songs, too, were designed to be as dense with polyphony as the Final Fantasy live shows can become. While writing it, I kept an image in my head of putting so many notes on the page that the paper turned black.”

The ‘Heartland’ tracklisting will be:

‘Midnight Directives’
‘Keep The Dog Quiet’
‘Mount Alpentine’
‘Red Sun No 5’
‘Lewis Takes Action’
‘The Great Elsewhere’
‘Oh Heartland, Up Yours!’
‘Lewis Takes Off His Shirt’
‘Flare Gun’
‘E Is For Estranged’
‘Tryst With Mephistopheles’
‘What Do You Think Will Happen Now?’