Florence And The Machine to release ‘MTV Unplugged’ live album

Acoustic performance includes a duet with Queens Of The Stone Age's Josh Homme

Florence And The Machine will release a new live album next month, which was recorded at the band’s MTV Unplugged performance late last year.

The performance took place on December 16 in New York City and featured Florence Welch, three members of her band and a 10-piece gospel choir playing an 11-song set. Kanye West and rapper Q-Tip were among those in the show’s audience.

The set included two covers, first of Otis Redding‘s ‘Try A Little Tenderness’ and secondly of ‘Jackson’, the Jerry Leiber and Billy Edd Wheeler song made famous by Johnny Cash and June Carter. On this particular track, Welch was joined by Queens Of The Stone Age mainman Josh Homme for a duet. ‘MTV Unplugged’ will be released on CD and digital download on April 9.

Florence And The Machine are currently in the midst of their biggest UK tour to date and will play three shows at London’s Alexandra Palace this weekend.

You can watch an interview with Florence And The Machine from last week’s NME Awards by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking.

The tracklisting for ‘MTV Unplugged’ is as follows:

‘Only If For A Night’
‘Drumming Song’
‘Cosmic Love’
‘Breaking Down’
‘Never Let Me Go’
‘Try A Little Tenderness’
‘No Light No Light’
‘What The Water Gave Me’
‘Dog Days Are Over’
‘Shake It Out’